Administrator > Upload users

Upload users

The User Upload Wizard provides you with a fast and simple way to add information for many users into the system. The following diagram shows the high-level workflow for this feature: 

User Upload Wizard workflow diagram

Each aspect of this workflow is described in User Upload Wizard. Before you begin creating upload jobs, consider the following requirements.

Resolve naming conflicts

During an upload, xMatters uses the column headers of the data file to parse the data and propagate it to the proper database location. As a result, the file cannot include duplicate column header names (i.e., because xMatters cannot determine the intended database destination for the data). For example, if a custom field and a device are both named "Work Email", xMatters will be unable to determine whether the related column values should be associated with the custom field or the device.

If your xMatters deployment has duplicate names across devices and custom fields, you will not be able to access the features of the Upload Jobs page. Instead, the page will display an error message and a table identifying each naming conflict. To resolve these conflicts, it is recommended that you rename the custom field names that conflict with the device names.

Consider user roles

Consider the following best practices when associating roles with the users that will be uploaded:

  • Associate only the roles that a given set of users will need to interact with xMatters. For example, most users will not need the permissions associated with the Group Supervisor role; the more basic permissions of the Standard User role are often adequate for most users in a typical xMatters deployment.
  • It is recommended that you limit the number of different roles to only those required in your deployment. For example, if you plan ahead to determine who your group supervisors will be, you may find that the vast majority of users should be given only the Standard User role.
  • Before uploading users, divide them into categories based on which roles they will have. Then, create a separate job for each distinct category or set of roles. For example, a unique user upload job might consist of users who will have the following three roles: Standard User, Group Supervisor, and Scenario Initiator. Another job might include users who will have only the Standard User role.

Define upload jobs

The Upload Jobs page allows you to add, manage, and monitor user upload tasks. This page provides at-a-glance information about all user upload data jobs, including their status, number of entries, when they were created, and who created them. You can add and remove jobs, as well as click job name links for more detailed information about a job's status.

Upload Jobs page

The following table explains each possible value in the Status column of the Upload Jobs table:

User Upload Job Status Definitions
Status Meaning
NEW Job has been created (i.e., it has a unique name and roles have been associated with the users to be uploaded), but there is no data file associated with the job.
VALIDATED Job has been created and a data file is associated with it, but the data file cannot be processed.
SCHEDULED FOR PROCESSING Job has been validated, and is scheduled to be processed when the next scheduled processing occurs. By default, processing occurs hourly.
PROCESSING Job is currently being processed. The job cannot be deleted while in this state.
PROCESSED Processing has been completed, but users have not been sent a notification message.
NOTIFIED File processing is complete and all uploaded users have been sent a message with information about how to complete their xMatters account setup.

Remove a data file from an upload job

If you decide that you want to associate a different data file with a job, you can delete the data file without having to delete the job. Deleting the existing file allows you to add a new file to the job whenever you are ready to do so.

You can only delete jobs that are in the VALIDATED or SCHEDULED FOR PROCESSING state. If the file has already been processed, you will have to create a new job if you want to use a different data file.