Share steps

Some steps might be designed for a single, specific flow while others are useful in multiple flows across your organization. By sharing steps you can create a more streamlined process for building flows and provide consistency across flows.

You can only share steps that you own. Once a step is shared, it's available for people with access to use in any flow across your organization or xMatters instance.

Sharing filters

Custom steps and HTTP triggers have filters that you can use to quickly locate steps based on your usage permissions:

  • Owned: The custom steps or HTTP triggers you own.
  • Shared With Me: Any custom steps or HTTP triggers other users own and have allowed you to use or edit.
  • All: All custom steps or HTTP triggers that are available to you.

Usage permissions

As a step owner you can specify who the step is shared with and what permission levels they have.

  • Use: Users can add the step to their flows.
  • Edit: Users can add the step to their flows, and modify step settings in the palette.

When a step is shared, Flow Designer applies the greater access permission level.

For example, say you share the step with Joe Smith, and grant him Use permission. You also share the step with the IT Administrators group, and grant that group Edit permissions. Joe Smith is a member of the IT Administrators group and the group's higher permission setting overrides Joe's individual setting, so he can edit the step's properties in the palette. The same works in reverse: if Joe Smith has Edit permissions, but his group has Use permission, Joe can edit the step but others in his group can only use it.

Share a custom step or HTTP trigger

Your permission settings determine the roles, groups, and users you can share the step with.

  1. Click the gear icon beside the step you want to share and then select Usage Permissions.
  2. In the Search bar type the name of the role, group, or user, (or type two spaces to view a list of all available options) then select the name from the list. In the search results and permission window, each recipient type is accompanied by an icon:
    • Role: 
    • Group:
    • User:
    • All Users: 
  3. Use the drop-down menu to set the permission level for each role, group, or user.
    • Permission types are grouped together so you'll see all roles, groups, and users with Edit permissions ahead of all roles, groups, and users with Use permissions.

    • You can add as many roles, groups, and users as you need. Once selected, names in the search list show a check mark so you don't add the same name twice.

  4. Click Save.

If you decide to revoke share permissions, open the Usage Permissions menu and click the x beside the role, group, or user to remove them, then click Save. This won't remove the step from any flows where users have already added it, but it will prevent anyone else from adding or editing it further, and any users that have the step in a flow won't be able to change the settings there.