Manage step versions

Applications and processes are constantly changing, and the ability to create versions of steps helps you adapt them to meet the needs of the real world without disrupting your existing flows. You can have multiple versions of a step deployed, ready for use in flows, while others are still in development. For example, consider a "Create Service Desk Ticket" step — you might need to have versions that work with the ServiceDesk APIv1 and the ServiceDesk APIv2 both deployed; at the same time, you have a version in development to address your boss' request to complete additional fields in the service desk ticket.

Anyone with permission to use the step can view deployed versions in the palette and drag them into a flow. Anyone with permissions to edit a step can also add in-development versions into a flow to test out changes. It's also easy to switch the version used by a step on the canvas.

Using different versions in a flow

There are a couple of ways to use a different version of a step in a flow, depending on whether you're adding the step for the first time or want to change the version of a step currently in use.

Create a new version of a step

When you create a new version, the version remains linked to the parent step. You might create a new version if your service desk application comes out with an update, and you need to make changes for the step to work with that update. If you want to use a step as a template to create a completely new step, not linked with the original, you can also copy a step.

To create a new version, you need edit permissions for the step. The default version in the palette is the latest deployed version.

Delete a version

If you no longer need a version, you can delete it as long as it is not being used by a flow. To delete the base version (version 1), you need to delete the step entirely.

To delete a version of a step:

  1. Click Show versions in the Edit Step dialog.
  2. Click the gear icon beside the version and select Delete.
  3. Click Delete again to confirm (or Close to cancel).
    • If the version is used in any flows, a dialog shows you where the step is used. Remove it from those flows and try again.